Whose way is not just?

I ran across this in my reading this morning:

17“Yet your people say, ‘The way of the Lord is not just,’ when it is their own way that is not just. 18 When the righteous turns from his righteousness and does injustice, he shall die for it. 19And when the wicked turns from his wickedness and does what is just and right, he shall live by this. 20Yet you say, ‘The way of the Lord is not just.’ O house of Israel, I will judge each of you according to his ways.”  – Ezekiel 33:17-20 (English Standard Version)

I think this is fairly common today – we don’t often say it straight out, but we can rationalize our way around what the Bible says.  As I was turning it over in my head, I started to wonder whether I’m doing that, and if so, how.  Are you?  Something to think and pray about…

Leave a Reply

